Peanut Butter Cookies

[Healthier] Peanut Butter Cookies
Vegan and Gluten Free

One of my goals this year has been to cut out sweets and large amounts of sugar. I knew it would be too hard to cut out sweets and desserts all together, so I started searching for alternatives. With that being said, I have learned that there are 2 benefits to making my own desserts/sweet treats. 1) If I have to make an effort to make it, I will be less inclined to have it all the time, because I’m lazy. 2) Baking it myself means I control what goes into it. Now, one thing must be noted… I love Peanut Butter cookies. I mean, I can eat half a dozen in one sitting if I let myself. My whole life, my mom and I have baked my Grandmother’s PB cookie recipe and it’s really the only one I have ever used. Until now, that is… If you’re familiar with the ingredients of peanut butter cookies, it is as you can imagine, primarily flour, sugar, butter and peanut butter. The 4 basic ingredients to deliciousness. While the texture of these cookies are slightly different then what you’re used to with Grandma’s cookies, the taste is still very much there. Mine turned out moist (as if I had added a stick of butter), full of flavor, and chewy! At the end of the day, sugar and peanut butter are still sugar and peanut butter, and despite using fresh ground peanut butter and coconut sugar, still does not provide great nutrients. But this is a great alternative to make once in a while when you’re craving something naughty!

*Original recipe found here!

Ingredients

1 cup peanut butter (I used fresh ground peanut butter)
1 cup coconut sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
⅔ cup almond flour (can most likely use flour of choice)
1 tsp baking soda
⅛ teaspoon salt
¼ cup water

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  • In a large mixing bowl, cream together the peanut butter and brown sugar for 1 minute. Add in the vanilla extract and beat for another 30 seconds.
  • In a separate mixing bowl, mix the dry ingredients together (oat flour, baking soda, and salt).
  • While beating the peanut butter mixture, slowly add in the oat flour mixture and beat until a crumby dough forms. Add in the water and continue to beat until distributed. Do not over mix.
  • Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
  • Roll the dough into balls (about 1½ – 2 tablespoons per cookie), drop on parchment paper, and flatten with a fork one way and then the other to create a crisscross pattern.
  • Bake for 8-10 minutes or until just starting to turn golden on edges (they bake FAST so watch them carefully).
  • Let cool completely.
  • Store in an airtight plastic container to keep the cookies soft and chewy.

*Note: Check out the original recipe for some delicious pictures! Although mine didn’t quite look like hers, the look definitely didn’t alter the taste. She also used brown sugar and oat flour, but I used the coconut sugar and almond flour because it’s what I had at the house.

Leave a Reply

